Permits to carry concealed weapons are available through the Office of the Kenton County Sheriff. Applications are available at both the Covington and Independence county buildings.
Note: The DOCJT Legal Handout (29 pages) is now required to be read by new applicants. The Sheriff is suggesting you read the handout prior to coming into the Sheriff's Office. Applicants will be required to sign a certificate that they have read and understood the handout prior to completing the application.
Frequently Asked Questions about the Carrying Concealed Deadly Weapon (CCDW) license.
How do I report a lost or stolen CCDW license?
Report to Kenton County Sheriff's Office to fill out a Request for Duplicate CCDW License form (KSP 126).
$15.00 fee - Check/money order payable to Kentucky State Treasurer.
What are the Qualifications for CCDW?
Applicant must be a resident of Kentucky for at least six months prior to filing of the application;
Applicant must be 21 years of age or older;
Applicant must not be ineligible to carry a firearm pursuant to 18 USC 922(g) or KRS 527.040
Applicant must not have been committed to a state or federal facility for abuse of a controlled substance or convicted of a misdemeanor related to a controlled substance within a 3-year period proceeding the date the application was submitted;
Applicant must not have chronically and habitually used alcoholic beverages and must not have had two or more DUI convictions within a three-year period proceeding the date the application was submitted;
Applicant must demonstrate competence with a firearm;
Applicant must not have been adjudicated as incompetent or must have waited three years from the date their competency was restored by a court order and must not have been involuntarily committed to a mental institution unless certified by a psychiatrist not to have suffered from a disability for a period of three years.
What is needed to apply for CCDW License?
Certification for completion of firearms training.
Application - available in sheriff's office.
Photograph (not digital or computer generated picture). Photograph can be done at Kenton County Sheriff's Office.
Check or money order for $40.00 made out to Kentucky State Treasurer and $20.00 made out to Kenton County Sheriff's Office.
Signed CCDW license application - citizen affidavit.
What is needed for renewal of CCDW license?
Notice of renewal from the Kentucky State Police - CCDW Analyst. Signed in the presence of Sheriff's Office.
Photograph (no digital or computer generated picture). Photograph can be done at Kenton County Sheriff's Office.
Renewal fee $60.00 (when applicable). Check or money order for $40.00 made out to Kentucky State Treasurer and $20.00 made out to Kenton County Sheriff's Office.
Failure to renew on or before expiration date required to pay a late fee. Check or money order for $55.00 payable to Kentucky State Treasurer and $20.00 check to Kenton County Sheriff's Office.
Signed affidavit for renewal of license.
What do I do if my name or address changed?
Fill out the form at the Kenton County Sheriff's Office. (If not completed, renewal notices are not forwarded.)
The application and other correspondence will be sent to the Kentucky State Police within five working days. The Kentucky State Police notifies applicants by mail.